Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
August 20, 2019
  Follow @FIOANH on Twitter!

  Join FIOANH on Facebook!  

Action Center

FIOANH is a not-for-profit association.  Our mission focuses on improving firefighter safety through training and education.  While we are not a labor organization or IAFF affiliate, we would like to extend our gratitude to and for their support of our mission in hosting our website.

Peter J. Carver Fire Officer of the Year Award


The Fire Instructors & Officers Association of New Hampshire created this award to recognize an individual who has demonstrated exceptional dedication, mentorship, guidance, and diligence as a Fire/EMS officer to firefighters/EMS personnel, fire/EMS organizations and to the New Hampshire fire/EMS service.  2008 was the inaugural year of this annual award which compliments the long-standing and prestigious John T. Ayers Fire Instructor of the Year Award.



Peter J. Carver was a Fire Captain, Assistant Chief of Fire Training, and most of all a friend!  Pete was employed by the City of Concord, NH Fire Department from 1970 to 1978 when he retired as a Captain due to medical disability.  Pete got better and, while he could not return as an active firefighter, he still wanted to be an active fire service member.  Pete was employed by New Hampshire Fire Standards & Training until the mid-nineties, when he again retired.


Pete and the late John T. Ayers shared the roles of Assistant Chiefs of NH FS&T.  Both were responsible for very important aspects that are still in place within the Division of Fire Standards & Training & Emergency Medical Services: fire officer certification programs and the promotional testing/assessment center process.


Pete was always known as a “Firefighter’s Officer”: firm but fair.  He had a neat knack to listen, and because of that he was a friend to all.  Although Pete left us on November 12, 2006 his legacy will live on as future generations learn about him and his contributions.


The Fire Instructors and Officers Association of New Hampshire owes a great debt of gratitude to Peter J. Carver and those who emulate his desire to improve the leadership of the NH Fire/EMS service.  It is only right that the FIOANH Fire Officer of the Year Award be named in honor of the late Peter J. Carver.

Past Recipients:

2007 - Lieutenant Ronald Lowd - Concord Fire Department

2008 - Captain Bernard Marvin - Portsmouth Fire Department

2009/2010 - Lieutenant Sean Brown - Concord Fire Department

2011 - Battalion Chief Guy Newbery - Concord Fire Department

2012 - Captain Michael Balcom - Gilford Fire Department

2013 - Deputy Chief Rodney Towne - New Boston Fire Department

Page Last Updated: Sep 04, 2014 (18:07:38)
Fire Instructors & Officers Association of New Hampshire
Copyright © 2019, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

Top of Page image