Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
August 20, 2019
  Follow @FIOANH on Twitter!

  Join FIOANH on Facebook!  

Action Center

FIOANH is a not-for-profit association.  Our mission focuses on improving firefighter safety through training and education.  While we are not a labor organization or IAFF affiliate, we would like to extend our gratitude to and for their support of our mission in hosting our website.

John T. Ayers Fire Instructor of the Year Award


The Fire Instructors & Officers Association of New Hampshire created this annual award to recognize an individual who has demonstrated exceptional dedication, mentorship, guidance, and diligence as an instructor to firefighters/EMS personnel and has made significant contributions to the New Hampshire fire/EMS service.  This award compliments the new Peter J. Carver Fire Officer of the Year Award.


John T. Ayers had a very “give service” career, and was one of the most genuine human beings you could ever meet.  John served the United States Navy in World War II and the United States Army during the Korean War, being decorated with the Purple Heart for injuries sustained in battle.

In 1954 John joined the Fire Department of New York.  He was promoted to Lieutenant in 1962, serving in Brooklyn’s Ladder Co. 120.  Following his retirement in 1974 John moved to New Hampshire and began working for New Hampshire Fire Standards & Training in 1976, later being promoted to Assistant Chief.

Over the next twelve years John contributed much to fire training in New Hampshire.  He was instrumental in the development of the first company officer certification program and was very active in teaching, curriculum development, and mentoring the younger generation of fire instructors.  John retired in 1988, and passed away a short time later; his legacy will live on as future generations learn about him and his contributions.

The Fire Instructors and Officers Association of New Hampshire owes a great debt of gratitude to John T. Ayers and those who emulate his desire to improve NH fire service training and education.  It is only right that in 1989 the FIOANH Fire Instructor of the Year Award was created and named in honor of the late John T. Ayers.

Past Recipients:

1989 - Michael Clark - Hanover Fire Department

1990 - Rodney Towne - Concord Fire Department

1991 - Peter Carver - New Hampshire Fire Standards & Training

1992 - Richard Mason - Portsmouth Fire Department

1993 - Barry Bush - New Hampshire Fire Standards & Training

1996 - Richard Martel - Manchester Fire Department

1997 - John Beland - Gilford Fire-Rescue

1998 - Robert Irish - Exeter Fire Department

1999 - Harold McGovern - Littleton Fire Department

2000 - Stephen Carrier - Gilford Fire-Rescue

2001 - Roger Hatfield - Nashua Fire-Rescue

2002 - Michael Mansfield - Nashua Fire-Rescue

2003 - David Duquette - Dover Fire-Rescue

2004 - Eric Wilking - Exeter Fire Department

2005 - Steve Allen - Lebanon Fire Department

2006 - Scott Carrigan - Nashua Fire-Rescue

2007 - David Poole - Gilford Fire-Rescue

2008 - Joseph Butts - Manchester Fire Department

2009/2010 - Jessica Wyman - Nashua Fire-Rescue

2011 - Christopher Silver - Hampton Fire-Rescue

2013 - Captain Steve McKenna - Salem Fire Department

Page Last Updated: Sep 04, 2014 (18:06:39)
Fire Instructors & Officers Association of New Hampshire
Copyright © 2019, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

Top of Page image